The countdown to the Hair Nation Festival in Irvine, CA has officially started!


The Rainbow Bar & Grill hosted the kick-off press event that included some of the participating bands.  Among those in attendance were, Lita Ford, Tracii Guns, Gabbie Rae as well as members of Junkyard, The Bulletboys and Hair Nation Fest. host, Eddie Trunk.

HairNation Press-11

California Rock News had a chance to talk with some of the attendees:

Host: Eddie Trunk

Tracii Guns (L.A. Guns)

Marq Torien, Nick Rozz & Shawn Duncan (The Bulletboys)

Tim Mosher & Pat Muzingo (Junkyard)

After the press event everyone descended to the Whisky A Go Go to witness the Hair Nation Festival Battle of the Bands.  The second place winner would be offered the 2nd Stage opening slot, while the Grand Prize winner would be given the chance to kick off the festival on the Main Stage.

The unenviable task of deciding which of the bands would be packing their gear for the Irvine Amphitheater fell to guest judges, Eddie Trunk, Lita Ford, Tracii Guns, Brent Woods (Sebastian Bach) and Music Producer, Jay Ruston.

The seven participating bands vying for the coveted slots included:

The Electric Hounds

HairNation BotBHairNation BotB-2

The Devil’s Only

HairNation BotB-9HairNation BotB-10


HairNation BotB-11

The Aviators

The Hard Way

Salems Lott

Wikkid Starr

HairNation BotB-29HairNation BotB-30HairNation BotB-31

The bands brought very different approaches to their short sets.   Some brought dancers, some harkened back to the days when make-up and glam ruled the strip, others did what the could to endear themselves to the judges.  The one common thread is that they all came to rock!

Once the last band left the stage, the judges got together, discussed each band and amazingly all came to the same conclusion as to which two bands would be opening up the Hair Nation Festival.

Eddie Trunk returned to the stage and announced the unanimous decisions.

Congratulations to 2nd Stage Openers: The Electric Hounds

HairNation BotB-33

HairNation BotB-34

And the Grand Prize winner and Main Stage Opening Act: The Aviators