Alex Kluft/ Alex Kluft Photography

The Shock-Rock/ Hard-Rock tour of a lifetime came to the Five Point Amphitheater in Irvine, CA last night. The Freaks on Parade Tour features a headline set from Rob Zombie and performances from Mudvayne, Static-X, and Powerman 5000. This nearly 5 hour show began with Powerman 5000 led by Zombie’s younger brother Spider One, the only member of the group through each lineup since forming in 1991. The current band is lead vocalists Spider One, drummer DJ Rattan, bassist Murv3, rhythm guitarist Taylor Haycraft, and lead guitarist Dan Schiz. Their electrifying set of eight songs included “Bombshell,” “Supernova Goes Pop,” “When Worlds Collide,” and a cover of The White Stripes “Seven Nation Army.”

Next up was Static-X. Static-X formed in 1994 with Wayne Static (Lead vocals/ Guitar), bassists Tony Campos, guitarist Koichi Fukuda, and drummer Ken Jay. The original lineup remained together for six years. From 2010-2012 the group was on hiatus then Static reformed the group with new members before going solo until his passing in 2014. In 2018/19 the surviving founding members reformed the band with a new singer/guitarist Xer0 to keep Static’s legacy and music alive. Xer0 recreates Static’s signature look with a mask and similar hair style. Static-X played a set of seven songs including “Love Dump,” “I’m With Stupid,” and “Push It.” 

Second to last was the highly anticipated performance from Mudvayne for their first L.A. show in 12 years. Mudvayne were together for 14 years before taking a hiatus in 2010. Frontman Chad Gray and guitarist Greg Tribbett went on to continue with Hellyeah with former Pantera/Damageplan drummer Vinnie Paul of which they had joined when the group formed in 2006. Tribbett left the group in 2014/ With Paul’s passing in 2018, Hellyeah did one more tour with Stone Sour drummer Roy Mayorga honoring Paul’s life and legacy before disbanding in 2021 when Mudvayne reunited. Mudvayne is still three founding members Gray, Tribbett, drummer Matthew McDonough, however bassist Ryan Martinie joined in 1997 replacing original bassist Shawn Barclay who left just a year after the group formed. Also on guitar is touring member Marcus Rafferty who joined last year when the group reunited. 

Mudvayne performs dressed in horror-movie style outfits. The 12-song set opened with “Dig,” and included “Death Blooms,” “World So Cold,” and “Happy?”

Now it was time for the final act of the night, none other than Rob Zombie. Zombie founded White Zombie in 1985 and in the groups 13 years together released four albums. Zombie would continue as a solo artist releasing his first album Hellbilly Deluxe: 13 Tales of Cadaverous Cavorting Inside the Spookshow International in 1998. Two years after his second solo album The Sinister Urge, Zombie direced, wrote, and made the music for his first film House Of 1000 Corpses. Zombie would then direct, produce, and write his next film The Devil’s Rejects. Zombie would release another five albums with the latest being The Lunar Injection Kool Aid Eclipse Conspiracy (2021). Zombie also made another nine films with the latest being The Munsters released this year. Former Marilyn Manson guitarist John 5 has been with Zombie since 2005 and in 2006 bassist Piggy D. who was previously with Wednesday 13 joined. In 2011 former Manson drummer Ginger Fish joined and this has been Zombie’s band since then all together. Zombie began the show with “The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)” on top of a big fixture with his name spelled out. On the next song “Superbeast” Zombie came down and ran across the risers back and forth as well as John 5 and Piggy D. This intense set included a total of 17 songs including Zombie’s biggest hits “House Of 1000 Corpses,” White Zombies “More Human Than Human,” “Thunder Kiss ‘65,” and covers of the Ramones “Blitzkrieg Bop,” and Grand Funk Railroad’s “Were an American Band,” before ending with “Shadows of the Cemetery Man,” and “Dragula.”

Alex Kluft Photography

Photography Alex Kluft